In reality, however, crêpes originated in Brittany and were made from buckwheat flour. They are much darker in color and have quite a different flavor. Brittany, on the northwest corner of France was not suitable for growing wheat, but when buckwheat arrived in the 12th century it thrived in the area and when buckwheat flour was mixed with water and salt, it made the first crêpe batter. These buckwheat crêpes are often called galettes and are still made in the traditional way in Brittany where batter is poured onto a hot surface called a billig and spread around with a wooden tool shaped like a rake and called a râteau.
Buckwheat crêpes are made the same way you make sweet crêpes, but use buckwheat flour instead. Buckwheat is actually not related to wheat at all, which is a bit confusing, but what this means (and here’s the good news for many of you) is that buckwheat is gluten-free! That means that at long as you make sure to get gluten-free buckwheat flour (some flours can’t make this claim because they are milled in the same factories as wheat flour), these crêpes, which use 100% buckwheat flour are gluten-free too. That is pretty fantastic for those trying not to eat wheat.